When I was a kid I spent a lot of time with my grandmother. She lived in the same town that we did. She babysat us a lot. She took us to run errands with her and always bought us McDonald’s. We played a lot of games together.

We played a lot of dominos. It seemed to be her favorite game. To this day when I even see the word domino I think immediately of my grandma.

Playing dominos with her was a family tradition.

Movie mattress night is one of my kids’ favorite family traditions. It’s a simple thing really. It usually happens on a night when the boys don’t have to get up early the next day. We choose a movie, drag a mattress (or two) out of the bedroom(s), turn the futon into a bed, shut off all the lights, lay down and press play.

Usually we fall asleep before the movie is over. That’s part of the fun. I love waking up with all of us in the same room together. And because one or all of us has fallen asleep during the movie we always watch it again the next day.

It’s important to me that we watch, read and listen to great stories. Movie mattress night is one of the ways that Wonderful Hubby and I make sure that happens.

It’s also important to me that we create lasting memories and have a sense of unity and identity as a family. I think traditions are important and help us do just that.

What are your favorite family traditions?

