My pastor recently shared a story about a little boy who asked his dad how much money he made at work. The father was frustrated by the question but answered, “I make $20 an hour.”

“Ok”, said the little boy. “Can I have $10?”

The dad didn’t appreciate this request and sent his son to bed. After about an hour he thought he had been a little harsh, so he went into the boy’s room and asked him if he was still awake.

“Yes”

The father sat down on his son’s bed and apologized for getting so upset and then handed him a $10 bill. His son immediately pulled a bunch of ones out from under his pillow. He counted the ones and added the ten and said, “Hey Dad, I finally have enough! I finally have $20. Can I buy an hour of your time?”

As my pastor finished this story I had tears in my eyes.

I remember how tough it was growing up without my dad around. I remember my mom working long nights and sleeping all day. She worked so hard to provide for us and to keep us safe.

It was often difficult for her to find one on one time for us. But when she did, we had a great time. Some of my best memories with my mom are us doing crafts together! She loved crafts and I loved doing something fun with her. It was a win-win situation.

Nothing says, “I love you” to a child the way spending time with them does.

Knowing this I thought I’d share a list of 25 fun things to do with your kids.

  1. Read a great book together. (Or listen to it in the car like we do.)
  2. Play board games.
  3. Paint together.
  4. Make bleach pen t-shirts.
  5. Volunteer your time together.
  6. Go for a walk around the block.
  7. Build something with Lego’s together. (My youngest and I recently built a city together.)
  8. Have a video game competition with them. (We love Wii Sports.)
  9. Buy a joke book and take turns reading the jokes out loud.
  10. Fill the driveway with sidewalk chalk art.
  11. Visit an art museum.
  12. Play charades.
  13. Have a water gun fight!
  14. Bake a cake or cookies together.
  15. Plant flowers indoors or out.
  16. Make paper bag puppets.
  17. Play hide and go-seek.
  18. Make fruit juice popsicles.
  19. Play the license plate game.
  20. Give each other a back scratch.
  21. Read the Bible together.
  22. Take a couple of goofy family photos. (Be sure to print and display them right away!)
  23. Cuddle.
  24. Draw on the windows with dry erase markers.
  25. Make a list of things your family is thankful for. (Take turns adding to the list.)

Whatever you choose remember, it’s not the specific activity, it’s our time that communicates love to our children.

