What did the snail say while riding on the back of the turtle?  Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

What did one lawyer say to the other lawyer?  We are both lawyers.

What do you call a poodle who likes to take a bath?  A shampoodle

What is smarter than a talking bird?  A spelling bee.

My family loves to laugh and we’re always trying to one up each other with a new (clean) joke! But it wasn’t always this way.

I personally always thought of myself as having very little sense of humor. I can’t think of a single movie that would be considered comedy that I love and I can’t stand slap stick. Also, I mostly don’t get it when other people are joking…I’m usually thinking, “Huh?” I guess I’m just slow that way.

In my old age (late 30’s) I’m finally starting to get sarcasm. And that has been quite fun.

Maybe that’s what sparked the desire for more. I just remember looking around one day and realizing that we (as a family) didn’t really laugh together a lot. It made me sad.

So I got a big fat joke book and read it cover to cover. Then I wrote down all the jokes I thought the kids would like and put them in a big bowl in the middle of the kitchen table. Each night we would take turns choosing jokes and cracking each other up. We had so much fun!!

It amazed me that with just a little effort, laughter and humor could become part of our lives and change the way we interact with each other.

So often we think, “This is just the way it is.” But it’s not always. Sometimes, this is just the way we’re allowing it to be.

I love that we have the option of taking charging and setting out a big bowl of jokes on the kitchen table!

